Workouts & A New Recipe

Hope everyone is having a great week so far. Less then 2 weeks to go till Christmas!

I finally started Christmas shopping for my family, still have a few more things to purchase. But at least I started!

I haven’t been able to go for a run this week at all so far. I’ve strained the ligament in my other heel now…I honestly have the worst luck. So whilst my left heel is healing nicely the other one is out of action. I changed my workout schedule so that the only run I would be doing is this Saturday. My club is having a Christmas Party and they are hosting a 5k fun run. For this run you have to estimate what time you think you’ll complete the run in. You can’t run with a watch and the person who run’s closest to their estimate wins a prize. Their will also be various other games like sack races, egg & spoon, tug-of-war & best costume πŸ™‚

So my workouts on the bike this week have been as follows:

Monday: 15min warm up, 30sec Sprints x5 with 30secs easy in between, 15mins easy (I did this twice), Stabilization

Tuesday: 2 x 45mins of Intervals, Stabilization

Wednesday: Same as Monday + Light Weights Shoulder Press 15 reps x2, Side Raise 15reps x2, Bicep Curls 20reps x3

I plan on going for a swim later this evening to do some laps + Kick boarding.

Some of my eats:

Cinnamon, Apple & Sultana Oats: 1/3 cup Oats, 1 Chopped Apple, 40g Sultanas, 1tsp Cinnamon & scoop Chai Seeds

Beets, Cauliflower, Broccoli & Carrot Salad

Baby Spinach, Tomato slices, Sweet Potato & Chilli Tuna

I did some baking this afternoon. These muffins are easy to prepare and nutritious πŸ™‚

Choc Chip Sweet Potato Muffins

  • 1/2 cup Multigrain Oats
  • 1 cup Wholemeal Self Raising Flour
  • 1tsp Baking Soda
  • 3/4tsp Nutmeg
  • 3/4tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Dark Choc Chips
  • 1 cup mashed Sweet Potato
  • 2tbsp Oil
  • 1/4 cup Soy Milk
  • 1/2 cup Water
  • 1 Egg lightly Beaten

Preheat Oven 375 deg F (180 deg C)

In one bowl mix together oats, wholemeal flour, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon, brown sugar & dark choc chips.

Combine mashed sweet potato, oil, milk, egg and water in another bowl and mix. Then add to dry ingredients.

Spoon mixture into greased muffin tins and bake for 15-20mins.

I’ve already had 2 so far today in a yogurt mess & as a topping on my oats.

Yogurt Mess: chopped Peach, Apricot & Choc Chip Sweet Potato Muffin

Vanilla Mixed Berry Oats: 1/2 cup Oats, 1/2 cup Mixed Berries, scoop Vanilla Protein Powder, scoop Chai Seeds & topped with a Choc Chip Sweet Potato Muffin

Happy Wednesday πŸ™‚

19 Comments on “Workouts & A New Recipe”

  1. Sorry to hear that you can’t run. 😦 The fun run your club’s organising sounds super fun! I’m on the lookout for a club in my area too. And lovely eats! I’m especially loving all the oatmeal. πŸ˜‰

  2. shea says:

    I’ve never thought of sweet potato & chocolate πŸ™‚ I’ve done sweet potato & nut butter & carob chips.

  3. Tara says:

    Sory about your heel 😦 If it makes you feel any better, I irritated something in my knee (not quite sure what) so I’ve gotta take some more time off running as well. We need to heal up and stop getting sidelined!!

    Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip muffins sound awesome!! I made sweet potato muffins a really long time ago and they were awesome. Chocolate chips can make anything better though!

  4. That Christmas Party sounds like it will be SO much fun πŸ˜€

  5. Alexandra says:

    Great recipe! I love that there’s sweet potato in them πŸ™‚
    Sorry to hear about the ligament though, hope it heals ASAP!!

  6. Oh no I am sorry about your heel 😦 I am sending healing vibes your way pronto!
    And I have never baked with sweet potato in my desserts… so I am rather intrigued by these and want to try them!

  7. Wahh. No me gusta about your heel girl. Hopefully it gets better soon. πŸ™‚ I love the idea of sweet potato cookies though. That sounds like the bomb.

  8. I love the muffin recipe! How cool πŸ™‚

  9. Aw, sorry about your other injury! Have a great swim πŸ™‚ <33
    Those muffins look great!

  10. Those cookies look amazing and so healthy! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh no 😦 Sucks to hear you’re injured on the other side. That’s unfair. Hope you have fun at the christmas party though.
    The muffins look super good.

  12. Great workouts! Great eats! I’m seriously making those muffins!! They look so yummy and cute! There is just something so cute about muffins… they fall into the same “cute” category as kittens and those big, huge bows that people put on their baby girls that take up like half of their head… SO CUTE!!!

    I’m seriously jealous of your club’s 5k… what a cool idea! And you can’t wear a watch or anything… that is so cool! I hope you win!

    Also sorry about that rotten lucky with the other heel… darn it! Sometimes I wish we could just reach inside our bodies and do a quick fix on our little hurts like that. Hope it gets better soon!! πŸ™‚

  13. Aw, sorry about your injury. That’s killer. But the 5k sounds fun! I’m totally trying a GF version of this recipe today.. They look perfect, and I have like 10 lbs of sweet potatoes lying around. πŸ™‚ Heal quickly!

  14. Dani says:

    Those chocolate chip sweet potato muffins look AMAZING!! I’m definitely gonna have to try those out ASAP. Hope your leg feels better soon!

    Love your blog, so glad I found it! I would love it if you would check out my new blog !
    chocolatecoveredsneakers.wordpress.com

  15. Aww I’m so sorry about your heel, you really do have awful luck 😦
    I hope it gets better really quickly!
    Your club’s Christmas party sounds like so much fun, I hope you manage to join in with everything!
    And those muffins look delicious πŸ™‚

  16. dannngg those muffins sounds amazing!

  17. These look so great! Thanks for sharing the recipe.


Leave a Reply

