Something Sweet Sunday

After a 2hr workout on Sunday (I’ve been replacing my Long Runs with 90min-2hr on the bike at an easy pace) I decided to experiment with my oats a little.Β  There’s something about the sweet taste and aroma of Chai Tea/Lattes that is so addictive! So I attempted to incorporate that delicious spiced tea into my oatmeal πŸ™‚

Chai Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup Oats
  • scoop Chai Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Cloves
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Essence
  • 1 1/2 cups of Chai Tea
  • Toppings: Banana Slices, Dark Choc Chips & sprinkled some Mixed Spice

Mix all ingredients together and prepare oats as usual either on the stove top or microwave!

I thoroughly enjoyed this brekkie. The only thing missing was a drizzle of Honey or Maple Syrup…but I was out of both!

Weekend went by so quickly again. But i doesn’t really matter for me because I’m on vacation till March 2012, then the torture of studying begins again.

I slept in this morning and decided to workout in the afternoon for once. I did some sprints on the Stationary Bike, with the warm up and warm down it took me about 75mins to complete. I finished off my workout with some Stretching and Stabilization.

Today I didn’t have anything planned except to look around for an apartment. My friend and I are currently looking for a place to rent for February next year. A group of us always go away towards the beginning of February. It was on one of these trips that I got my tattoo…it was a bit of a spur of the moment thing. I had a few shots of vodka beforehand and voilaΒ  a few hours later I was inked up! I’m not going to do anything as drastic this time round hopefully πŸ™‚

Some of my eats from today:

Cinnamon Banana Oats: 1/3 cup Oats, 1tsp Cinnamon, 1 Banana mashed, scoop Chai Seeds topped with chopped Apricot, mixed Nuts & Plum Jam

Parfait: Muesli, Blueberries & Yogurt

Snow Peas, Radish & Corn on the Cob

Vanilla Mixed Berry Oats: 1/2 cup Oats, scoop Vanilla Protein Powder, 1/2 cup Frozen Berries, scoop Chai Seeds, topped with a chopped Peach & PB

Baby Spinach, Tomato slices & canned Salmon

Hope You All Have An Amazing Week. Not Long Now Till Christmas πŸ™‚

18 Comments on “Something Sweet Sunday”

  1. Loving all the oatmeal love! I’ve never tried chai tea, much less chai-spiced oats. Definitely looks interesting though. πŸ˜€

  2. Yum, I’ve made chai tea oats a few times as well with several different methods – every time it’s super delicious πŸ˜€
    I don’t know how you manage to get on the stationary bike for sooo long. I would be so bored!! How do you stay interested / focused??

  3. Alexandra says:

    Oh my gosh youre a genius! I love chai and I love oats…why haven’t I ever combined them?!? πŸ˜€

  4. Glad you are replacing your long runs with an easy bike. It will make the transition so much better. Anyways-I have never actually tried chai tea but your pictures make me want to try these oats. nom nom nom.

  5. Christie says:

    YUM. that oatmeal looks delicious. NICE job on the 2 hour bike rides πŸ™‚

  6. caloricandcrazy says:

    those salads, oats, and parfait looks DEE-Licious! πŸ™‚
    your tattoo experience makes one kind of a story! πŸ˜‰

  7. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    Chai oats are one of those things I’ve been meaning to try for like a year. I’m seriously going to make them tomorrow.

  8. Yumm what a great idea with this! The flavor it adds must be brilliant! P.s. how do you not die of boredom on the bike that long? I start to get bored after about 20 minutes!

  9. Yum!!!! All your eats look amazing!!! I’m so jealous! I need you in my kitchen! Haha.

    So, I’m guessing that if your cross training instead of running, that you’re probably injured… dang it!!! I’m so sorry! I hope it’s not too serious! I remember days of cross training for 2 hours to replace my long run… it wasn’t easy, but it was worth it when I could come back, so keep up the good work!!! πŸ™‚

  10. Tara says:

    I love the idea of chai oatmeal!! I love pretty much anything chai flavored, especially this time of year. I recently bookmarked a recipe for chai meringues that I can’t wait to try!

  11. Oh,I HAVE to try the Chai oats! Why have Inever thought of combining both of them?! I love Chai so bad!
    However,I hope you won’t come back from your trip with a new piercing or something like that,lol! πŸ˜›

  12. Parfaits are awesome! πŸ™‚

  13. Christmas IS so soon! I can’t wait! And two hours on a bike?? You have some dedication!

  14. Chai oatmeal? That is such an awesome idea!


Leave a Reply

