My Week At A Glance

This week has flown by and it’s almost 2 more weeks till Christmas! It’s been a week filled with appointments, catch up’s with friends and shopping.

First thing Monday morning I had a Physio appointment. I had my weekly check up to see how my injury is holding up after the race last Saturday. Some of my Physios recommendations for the rest of the month: Build up my runs on concrete 1-2 times a week no more then 5k, take 2 rest days a week if I need it, don’t push it too soon! Basically I still have to be cautious and listen to my body. So if I need to back off I will. I’ve got to continue to look at the bigger picture and focus on racing well in 2012!

I spent a good portion of this week shopping for outfits for some upcoming parties. I still haven’t bought my family Christmas presents yet. I’m so selfish I know! As well as getting myself some things I purchased some gifts for my friends. I have a friends 24th Birthday dinner tonight and another friends Christmas Party next Saturday night. It is the season to be merry and I will allow myself to get a little merrier than usual. Yes I plan on drinking my calories for once!

Amongst all this working out was definitely not forgotten.

Monday: 8k easy run on grass, warm down on Bike approx 40mins & Stabilization

Tuesday: 2 x 45min Intervals on the Bike + Stabilization

Wednesday: 10 x 100m Strides, 30mins easy on the Bike & Light Weights

Thursday: 2 x 45min Intervals on the Bike + Stabilization

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 10k Club Training Run

Sunday: 90mins easy pace on the Bike

Only dilemma for the week was whether or not to work out today. I had set Friday aside as a rest day since I have my club training run first thing Saturday morning. I know that it’s not ideal to be running 2 days in a row on concrete it will will only set me back in terms of healing. But I so baldy wanted to go out for a run or do some form of exercise since I was going out tonight. It took an enormous amount of will power but I actually actively rested today and resisted the urge to work out. Those ED voices are always going to be there ‘Just burn a few calories to make up for what your going to eat tonight’. Yes tonight I will be eating slightly unhealthier foods than usual and having a drink or 2, I shouldn’t feel the need to work off calories in order to eat! I’m satisfied with my training this week and I need to understand that taking a break is necessary otherwise I will burn out again or worse re-injure myself.

As for tonight Sam who is one of my closest friends is celebrating her 24th Birthday has organized a dinner. It will be at a Vietnamese Restaurant with a banquet style menu. Sam was so thoughtful when she was choosing the dishes for tonight, she went to the trouble of making sure there would be Steamed Asian Green Veggies & Seafood for me. Sam is one of the few friends who understands how much eating out can still be stressful for me.

I’ve been starting off my Morning’s with a Black Coffee pre-workouts & Protein Shakes/Chocolate Milk post-workouts.

Cinnamon Banana Oats: 1/3 cup Oats, 1 Banana mashed, scoop Chai Seeds, 1tsp Cinnamon, topped with Kiwi Fruit & Mixed Nuts

Morning Snack: Finished off a tub of Cottage Cheese with a chopped Cucumber & Carrot + Orange slices on the side

Lunch: Microwaved a Sweet Potato & Asparagus and an unpictured Mixed Berry, Yogurt & Muesli Parfait.

Afternoon Snack: Another bowl of Oats!

Vanilla Blueberry Oats: 1/3 cup Oats, 1/2 cup Blueberries, scoop Vanilla Protein Powder, scoop Chai Seeds, topped with an Apricot and PB&J

I achieved a small milestone today by not restricting with foods prior to heading out. I ate normally throughout the day something I never used to do back in my ED days. I’m happy about this because it means I’m addressing the food problems I have head on and these small behavioral changes are steps in the right direction.

Happy Friday 🙂

11 Comments on “My Week At A Glance”

  1. Alexandra says:

    Yay for kicking those voices to the curb! You rock girl!! 😀 Sounds like your break has already been so fun, I can’t believe Christmas is so close either, time is just flying haha
    Have a great one! Ps– love that quote pic too 🙂

  2. I am so proud of you,girl! 🙂 Not restricting throughout the day really is a huge step in the right direction!
    You really have a great friend in Sam since she always thinks of you,even if it’s her own birthday party. I am so glad you have her!

  3. Tara says:

    I struggle sometimes with rest days too. I’m always torn between A) restricting B) exercising C) just listening to my freaking body. Yesterday I managed to do C, but I’m not gonna lie, it was a fight! I’m glad we both won. Let’s keep making steps forward so we race like we’ve never raced before in the new year!

  4. Good job at not listening to those ED voices!!
    As always, your eats look so yummy! 🙂 I’ve never had cottage cheese with carrots before!

  5. Christie says:

    Sounds like the injury is healing up fabulously! You are going to have some amazing races in 2012.

    I have a VERY VERY hard time still on ‘rest’ days with eating… it is very hard not to go back into restriction mode. Great to hear you were able to overcome them!

  6. Woo, well done for hitting that milestone, hope it doesn’t change your night out in any way! 🙂
    Vietnamese food is pretty healthy anyway so hopefully it shouldn’t be too much trouble, even if your friend was awesome and picked some healthier options for you!
    Good luck in your run tomorrow 🙂

  7. caloricandcrazy says:

    kiwi and almonds looks like a great oatmeal combo 🙂


Leave a Reply

