Festive/Party Season

Christmas is almost at our door step and with it comes various social gatherings. I love the month of December, it’s the beginning of summer and a great time to catch up with friends before everyone jets off on holidays in January and February.

Today marked the first day of Summer vacation for me and already my diary has filled up very quickly. Don’t get wrong I’m quite happy that I have plans everyday this week. But this summer will also test me with things like being realistic about not being able to prep my meals everyday, eating out more often and catching up for drinks with friends.

Last week I didn’t really have time to dwell on these feelings because I was busy studying. It’s been at the back of my mind but I tried not to think about it. The fact that my usual routines are going to be derailed this summer can either be a positive or negative thing. I’m going to try and chill out and just go with the flow.

Sunday night my phone was literally buzzing with friends messaging me to remind me of Lunch dates, Christmas Parties and Birthday Parties. During the semester I can make up the excuse of school work…sad that I sometimes still avoid having to eat out/step outside my comfort zone.

To try and combat all the fears I’ve decided to do everything in moderation. I know my limits and how much I can cope with. Even if I indulge in a few bad habits for a short while I won’t overindulge all summer. I will try and value good eating and drinking habits. I refuse to cocoon myself this holiday season!

Have An Awesome Start To The Week šŸ™‚

15 Comments on “Festive/Party Season”

  1. It’s so funny to think that, for you guys, winter is summer and summer is winter! šŸ˜›

  2. Tara says:

    I think you should embrace the changes in your routine – you will be a stronger person! I definitely feel the same way when that happens to me, but I always learn and grow from it. I’m so excited for the holiday season, but I’m not really feeling it yet… I need snow on the ground, then I’ll be ready!

  3. Alexandra says:

    Happy first day of summer vacay!! Man I’m so jealous, even in Texas I’m freezing my butt off haha
    I can’t wait to see how you combat any negative thoughts and I can’t wait to see all of the adventures awaiting you šŸ™‚

  4. It’s so strange to think that you’re getting ready for Christmas in the sunshine, it’s so cold here!
    But happy first day of summer vacations šŸ™‚
    I think it’s great that you’re just going to try to embrace the holidays and just enjoy them with indulgences but without over indulging. I know with your fantastic positive attitude that you’ll manage to have a lovely time and not cocoon yourself šŸ™‚
    Have a great week!

  5. great post!!! its good to let loose a little over holidays. it can be stressful NOT to!

  6. I know it’s hard but I think you will get through it girl. Embracing the change will make you so strong! šŸ™‚

  7. The thought of celebrating Christmas in the sunshine is pretty weird for me – I am freezing here in germany and you are sweating over there,how strange is that?! šŸ˜›
    However,I am sure you will be able to go through the holiday season and manage to conquer your negative thoughts! You go,girl! šŸ˜€

  8. I feel ya on the anxiety from this… I think you will do so so well embracing the changes though šŸ™‚ Changing anything is so uncomfortable, but can be a very good thing in the end

  9. I am struggling with this also! I hate not being in complete control of my life but you just gotta think positive thoughts and live a little šŸ™‚

  10. Oh man. I’m going to get my summer on vicariously through you.
    Good for you for relinquishing a little control.. I’ve been seriously struggling with that a lot lately.

  11. Kiah says:

    FEARLESS! Love it šŸ™‚

  12. I hope you have a great Summer!


Leave a Reply

