Core Stability

I’m now well into week 4 since being injured! I had my first attempt of an 8k run on cement Monday morning. I cut my run short and stopped after 5k’s. The pain in my left heel became progressively worse throughout the run. I found myself having to shorten my strides and started to favor my right side more. So for my second 8k run which was this morning I ran it on grass at the park. I also contacted my physio today and he advised me to continue building up my mileage on grass. No sprints, no hill training till the strained ligament is completely healed though!

Everyday for the last 4 weeks I’ve been working on my Core Stability. Since I can’t do all the runs I want and my normal workouts I figured I would turn my attention to something I tend to overlook. Every morning I manage to squeeze in a quick core workout. I’m actually quite happy with myself in switching up my workouts and trying not to stress too much about not being able to run a whole lot.  It’s amazing what a month can do! Their is definitely a notable difference since increasing my core stability workouts. My muscles in my trunk have become much more stronger. The benefits of a stronger trunk means my spine and body are more stable. Which means better balance when I move 🙂

Other Benefits:

  • You learn how to use your Inner Muscles before you start to move (tightening your stomach muscles before lifting)
  • Improved Posture
  • Less chance of Injury
  • Decrease/Prevention of Lower Back Pain

Edibles 🙂

Apple Cinnamon & Sultana Oatmeal

Snack Plate: Orange & Cucumber slices, Sesame Snaps, Laughing Cow Cheese

Sauteed & Steamed Veggies

50g Instant Oats, scoop Chai Seeds, scoop Vanilla Protein powder, 1 cup Frozen Berries, 1/2 cup Water

Broccoli, Tomato slices & Cottage Cheese on a Wrap

Have A Lovely Wednesday!

‘Either you run the day or the day runs you’
– Jim Rohn

17 Comments on “Core Stability”

  1. Alexandra says:

    Those steamed and sauteed veggies are calling my name, they look delicious! 🙂 That’s so interesting about the core stability, sorry to hear about the pain on cement though. You’ll be all better in no time, I’m sure of it! 😀

  2. Tara says:

    I’m focusing on core as well, especially since my injury is sort of related to core! Last night at physical therapy my therapist killed my abs. You know when you wake up with that feeling in your abs and you know you worked hard? Yep. That was me this morning!

  3. Core strength is so darn important and beneficial too…like you wrote 🙂 I have been focusing on that more in the last few months and I definitely notice a difference
    I am sorry you are still experiencing pain, but I am glad you stopped the run short…good job listening to your body

  4. Core stregnth is what I’m working on too. Coach says I’ll be able to feel it as a runner. We shall see. I’m sorry about your pain girl but it will get better! 🙂

  5. I hope your injury heals quickly so you can get back to running pain free! 🙂 Good for you for doing some core work! I should probably do some of that more often as well 🙂 As always, yummy eats! I love how you eat seasam snaps a lot..I will keep my eye out for those because they sound really yummy 🙂

  6. Sara K says:

    So true about core strength! Ahhh with my crazy new work schedule I need to find a time where I can work out

  7. this is great! keep up the awesome work! i need to work on my core stability 🙂

  8. Kiah says:

    Working on my core is one of my November goals! Way to go girl!

  9. What exactly is core stability and specific core stability exercises? Sounds like something I would love to try!

  10. These core workouts are going to improve EVERY area of your fitness – even your running 🙂 I love it! Keep rockin’ girl 🙂

    BTW, am I the only one who thinks those asparagus spears look so pretty!?!

  11. caloricandcrazy says:

    those steamed veggies look so fresh and healthy! I want me some :k haha

  12. I absolutely love the looks of your wrap 😀 YUM!

  13. I’m so glad that despite being injured you are managing to carry on with your workouts and that you’re enjoying switching things up 🙂
    Do you think that you could post a couple of examples of the sort of thing you do for your core workouts?
    I really need to work on my core, I’ve been slacking with it lately, and I need some inspiration!
    Your Apple Cinnamon & Sultana Oatmeal looks delicious and that smoothie is a gorgeous colour 🙂


Leave a Reply

