Lap Swimming

For over 3 weeks now I’ve been hitting my local pool to swim some laps 2-3 times a week!

I enjoy swimming at the beach and occasionally in pools for fun. The last time I did drills of any kind in the pool was back in High School. I don’t miss squad training but since my injury I’ve quite enjoyed my swim sessions. It amazes me how a few laps up and down the pool can be therapeutic. I was actually glad the physio recommended I start incorporating lap swimming into my weekly workout schedule πŸ™‚

For my workouts in the pool I generally alternate between Freestyle and Breaststroke (my fave strokes)! I also do some kick boarding. It’s been a positive experience for me overall. This has made me want to incorporate more swim workouts into my routine once I’m completely healed!

So what’s good about swimming?

  • Improves Strength, Cardiovascular Fitness & Endurance
  • Keeps your Heart Rate up
  • Takes some of the Impact Stress off your body
  • Gets Blood moving through your Muscles to help them recover
  • Gives your Whole Body a workout with very little joint strain

My Eats Today:

Here’s A Little Motivation To Start Off Your Week πŸ™‚

Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do
– John Wooden

19 Comments on “Lap Swimming”

  1. Alexandra says:

    I love swimming, it’s probably my favorite form of cardio πŸ™‚ and I gotta say, that layered parfait thingy looks delicious! Love the quote too!

  2. Tara says:

    I am not a fan of swimming. I can pool run, but swimming and I just do not get along. It’s such a great way to cross train, it’s a shame I don’t really take advantage of it!

  3. I love lap swimming. Not competitive swimming-if that makes sense. That parfait looks amazing!

  4. swimming is really fun! my local pool isn’t open still. its too cold!
    i used to be in swim team when i was younger! πŸ™‚

  5. Christie says:

    Swimming was so hard for me to ‘get’ into… but now I make sure to incorporate it in my workout regime at least 2 times a week. Like you said… VERY therapeutic for the muscles.

  6. Ohh I love swimming! I’m a big fan of pools and the ocean πŸ™‚ I loovee diving and snorkeling! πŸ™‚ I havent been swimming in a long time though because theres sadly none nearby where I live. 😦
    As always, your eats look so delicious! I love your parfaits πŸ™‚

    Have a great week!

  7. When I was younger I loved swimming, but now I’m not a huge fan. Mostly because I don’t like deep water (scared of sinking), and I don’t like if the water is too cold. But I agree there are so many great benefits! Your parfaits always look fabulous!

  8. Big fan of swimming here. Not any good at it, and find it difficult to fit in the schedule, but love it every time!! πŸ™‚

  9. Kiah says:

    Way to go on your laps! I am not a strong swimmer, but I’d love to do a tri some day, so I’ll have to learn…eventually πŸ™‚

  10. Loveee swimming! Yum are those pom seeds on your oats?! I need to try that…. πŸ™‚

  11. LOVE that quote! im feelin the motivation!

  12. Errign says:

    Props to you on the swimming – I’m pretty much a doggie paddler. πŸ˜€

  13. Gemma Wilson says:

    Love the quote – inspired


Leave a Reply

