Re-entering The Running Game

I’m still injured but I’m getting back into running after my 3 week hiatus. For the last couple weeks I’ve been up to my ears with physio appointments! We’ve been playing it safe with my injury which was a Strained Ligament in my Left Heel. They basically treated it as though I had a stress fracture, since I have Osteoporosis (Β  I’m more prone to stress fractures). I had to be off my feet these last couple weeks so that left me with the bike, swimming, weights as my workouts. Although this week I was allowed to do; 2x 3k jogs and 1x 5k jog just to test out how the healing process was going.

Since all three jogs went fairly well. I can get back into running next week but only two runs and they have to be between 8-10k. As much as I am looking forward to getting back into running a lot of things have been playing on mind.

  1. First off I’m afraid of the length of time it will take for me to get my fitness levels back up.
  2. Being disappointed once I realize how many steps back I’ve taken from not being able to run.
  3. Last of all frustration! This is a big one for me. Right now I feel as though all my hard work these last few months have been all for nothing. Not being able to run at the same level or being able to compete in the races I had planned to makes me incredibly angry.

Having said all that! I am wiping my slate clean and reassessing my situation. From now till the end of the year it is not currently possible for me to run any races at my peak. So for now I will keep reminding myself that this is a temporary situation and I have to go easy. ‘Easy’ not a term in my vocabulary! But it is imperative that I don’t push myself too hard too soon, otherwise I will risk getting injured again or worse burn out.

Steps To Easing My Way Back πŸ™‚

  • Continue to focus on Core Workouts & Swimming ( I’ve found that I actually enjoy doing these workouts)
  • Take up a Yoga or Pilates class
  • Run Slow(er) yes I will force myself to slow my pace down and work my way back up to my normal pace

Overall my first aim is to be able to run comfortably again ie; pain free. Upping my mileage will be next on my list!

I’ve been pretty slack lately with photographing my eats. But here are a few that I did manage to capture πŸ™‚

Start Small & Think Big πŸ™‚

18 Comments on “Re-entering The Running Game”

  1. Congrats on getting back into the swing of things and what you love – running πŸ˜€ You must be so so so excited ❀ So I am happy for you πŸ™‚ But just remember, go easy on yourself πŸ™‚ You are still healing! You want to recover as fast as possible, so that will happen much easier/faster if you listen to your body and don't go too too hard πŸ˜‰

    You're definitely on the right track hun! Proud of you xo

  2. Alexandra says:

    Ahh that’s so exciting you’re getting back into what you love! Your fuel looks pretty darn tasty as well heehee πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Mmm tasty fuel! I am excited for you, can’t wait to hear how happy you are to be back πŸ˜€

  4. Christie says:

    I think the easing it back in plan is a good idea for sure! How did this injury start?… I am getting slight pains in my ankles specifically on the bone and I am wondering if it is going to lead to something like your situation.

    Hope you have pain free running soon!!

    • Mine was caused by over training. So I’m backing off now with training just to make sure I don’t re-injure myself.

      You should get your ankle checked out sooner rather than later. I waited too long before getting mine checked out.

  5. Sara K says:

    I agree that easing the plan is the way to go πŸ™‚ It’s wonderful that you’re getting back into one of the things you love doing, but the human body is so fragile so it sounds like a good idea to ease in with some yoga classes. Which reminds me…I really need to do some yoga!

  6. I hope your injury heals quickly and that you can get back to running pain free! ❀

  7. YAAY I am so happy you are recovering and can run again!! πŸ˜€ Don’t worry, in 3 weeks you won’t have lost very much fitness at all! Just take it slow and easy and ENJOY running again! I am so excited for you! πŸ˜€

  8. lapiattini says:

    Great news that you can run again! I know it can be frustrating- I’ve had a few injuries I had to overcome and worried about my fitness levels. But the most important thing is taking care of yourself!

  9. Tara says:

    You will be back up with your fitness in no time. It might hurt a little at first – I always find my breathing to be off and I feel sore a lot when I get back into running – but you just have to get through. It’s so frustrating sometimes, but you will be back to where you were and even better than that! I know EXACTLY how you are feeling!

  10. Chels says:

    I have been back and forth since July with the running, achilles problems. I have been surprised though, when stepping back into running my body picks up pretty quickly. I really think I can thank my swim workouts for this!

  11. woo hoo! glad that you can get back to running πŸ™‚ i like how getting better was first on your list. great mindset!

  12. Jamie Walker says:

    Good for you for getting back out there – just don’t overdo it – injuries need time to heal!

  13. Girl I was super nervous with getting back into running too but building it back up is key. You will be back before you know it. πŸ™‚

  14. Congrats on getting better AND on getting back into the swing of things gradually to give your body every chance to recover. Go you!! You were so fit beforehand that I’m sure you’ll be back up to speed in no time.

  15. yyeeeah girl! you are gonna rock the track field! or tredmill! or sidewalk!
    haha idk–but all i know is that you are gonna be a great runner again! πŸ™‚

  16. Happy for you to be back to what you love doing πŸ™‚ Hope you recover well and can get back into it properly soon!


Leave a Reply

