Variety Is The Spice Of Life

This week I stuck to my guns and broke through my stringent meal plans. Not that there’s anything wrong with planning weekly meals. It’s a good way to keep track on how your spending your $ if your on a tight budget or even if you are short on time during the week. But my body needed a bit of a shake up and added variety with certain foods!

So here are some of my eats these last few days 🙂

Cinnamon, Apple & Raisin Oats

I made Emma’s Banana Oat Pancakes!

PB & Plum Jam Sweet Potato

I attempted Lauren’s Crunchy Cauliflower Quiche. O k it may not look as good as her’s but it tasted great 🙂

Yogurt Messes

Smoothies in a bowl!

Today I couldn’t remember the last time I enjoyed going out with friends after class and purchasing a food/drink that I actually wanted. Normally I will watch my friends buy stuff and say I’ve already eaten or I have snacks with me (which is true…my bag always has healthy snacks) . Other times I am just too indecisive that it comes to the point that I can’t bring myself to buy anything. So this afternoon instead of picking out something that I already knew the calorie content of ie; the ‘safe option’. I went with an old childhood fave and enjoyed every last bit. For once I didn’t allow myself to feel guilty about enjoying this little pleasure 🙂

Indecisiveness has been quite a debilitating condition for me throughout the whole recovery process. It’s no longer restricting or over exercising anymore that prohibits me from getting better. The whole decision making process troubles me constantly everyday. I run through every option in my mind fretting over every little thing. Being indecisive about foods brings out the ugly side of me. I become irritable, argumentative, sullen, envy/resentment towards friends and family when they’re eating ‘unhealthier foods’ around me.

I guess this is all part of rediscovering who I am beyond my eating habits, weight and body image!?

I’m not quite there yet but I am still on the quest to finding ‘True Recovery’.

Thoughts For The Day/What I Learnt Today:

  • Listen To Your Body
  • Trust Yourself
  • Enjoy Life Again
  • Listen To Your Feelings

Smile 🙂 We’re Halfway Through The Week!

18 Comments on “Variety Is The Spice Of Life”

  1. Friend :) says:

    I can identify with what you’ve written about indecisiveness, almost as though I had written it myself. I know how hard it is to commit to eating something when a) it could be a calorific disaster and b) if you’re allowing yourself a new option, you’re having to decide between all the options you could go for. I think I struggle the most when I’m allowing myself to have a ‘treat’ and suddenly I want to eat all the treats or none of them because choosing just one is soo hard. Don’t give up, you’re doing really well. All your eats this week look delicious! xx

    • Thanks at least I’m not the only one who struggles with this. Committing to eating something is definitely hard when your faced with so many options. Even when I went to get ice-cream I still switched back and forth between all the other options. For a split second I wasn’t going to buy anything.

  2. WOW girl, I am so so so proud of you 🙂 I know how tough it is to get out of a rut, but look at you go 😀 You are a pro 😀 you should be very happy with yourself 😀 AND to top it all off, you are eating some really amazing looking meals! Thanks for sharing hun! Keep smiling 😀

  3. Wow good for you for taking control of this and changing it up! I get in food ruts all of the time, and you have inspired me to shake things up 🙂

  4. Yay for variation, that apple, cinnamon and raisin oatmeal looks so yummy!
    As does that smoothie, the purple colour is amazing.
    I think it’s really great that you allowed to have something that wasn’t “safe” and you just enjoyed it and didn’t worry or feel guilty, you go girl 🙂
    Your thoughts for the day are wonderful, I need to remember all four of them!

  5. yay for “unsafe” foods–im proud of you for reaching out like that!!

  6. Those pancakes look great! Happy WIAW 🙂

  7. Alexandra says:

    Girl I just discovered your blog and love it! Absolutely can’t wait to read more from ya!! 😀
    I can relate so much with your recovery story, baby steps are the way to go for sure 🙂 Great job stepping outta the comfort zone and trying some different foods. I get in food ruts allll the time, so this is great inspiration!
    Have an amazing day!

  8. pbbrittany says:

    All your eats looks awesome!!!
    No guilt girl!
    Have a great day!

  9. Your eats look so good! I love the color of the smoothie! 🙂
    And good for you for getting what you truely want! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  10. I think the quiche looks great!! Mine was totally not pretty. Just tasty!

  11. lapiattini says:

    Great job going with your craving! It’s hard and I face the same things- I too carry “safe” food with me in my purse and have to deal with the awkward conversation or stares when people wonder why I’m not buying food. I’m trying more and more to just listen to my gut though when it comes to cravings, just like you!

  12. Those pancakes look so small n cute! Cinnamon & apples in oats=amazing decision 🙂

  13. Tara says:

    I love the lessons of the day! They are things that we need to be reminded of everyday though since they are so easy to forget. You’ve been breaking out of the rut with some delicious food! I want to try that cauliflower quiche for sure!

  14. That popsicle looks delicious!!!

    I have never tried a pb&j sweet potato. Thanks for the idea 🙂

  15. Yum! Loving the pancakes and that gorgeous smoothie at the end. Definitely get what you mean about indecisiveness, it used to take me for-ever to decide what I wanted to eat if I dined out because I’d spend an extra 5 minutes trying to estimate the calories in my head. Good for you for enjoying a treat guilt-free!

  16. love your eats girl!!! 🙂 i love your lessons you learned too!! xo


Leave a Reply

