Digging Out Of My Food Rut

For the last few weeks I’ve been stuck in a food rut in regards to pretty much all my meals. Part of the problem for me during my recovery process with my ED is although I’ve gained weight and I eat frequently and often. I still tend to fall into the trap of not varying my diet and stick to foods I deem safe. Even though my food choices are healthy I know I’m still missing out on key nutrients from eating the same foods over and over again. For me personally having too many choices is often problematic and stressful. I wish it wasn’t but sadly it still is for me.

So this weekend I decided to venture off base in an attempt to bust out of my food rut. I challenged myself to fix something different for snacks in between meals.

Some of my Weekend creations 🙂

It’s not much but at least it’s a step in the right direction.

From here I plan on varying my Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner’s during the week.

12 Comments on “Digging Out Of My Food Rut”

  1. Well first of all I think it’s great that you are challenging yourself!
    Way to go girl 🙂
    And your new creations look delicious!
    Don’t worry that you still have some difficulties, most people have some issues that they still struggle with and I know that you are strong and will overcome them in time! 🙂

  2. It’s all about baby steps 🙂 That is great that you are challenging yourself to try new foods! I love the dressed up apple 🙂

  3. Tara says:

    Oooh that apple looks awesome! I get into food ruts a lot. It definitely becomes a safety net – I try to keep mixing it up and trying new things so that I don’t get into a habit, but it can be hard!

  4. That is awesome you are challenging yourself to try some new items out! I feel like I am constantly in a food rut… you are motivating me to get myself out of it!

  5. Natalie says:

    It’s great that you challenged yourself! Keep with it girlfriend, we’re all supporting you!

  6. This is a post I actually really needed to see. I’m in a huge food rut and expand my diet but it’s so nerve racking. Wahh.

  7. ooo that purple is so pretty!! 🙂

  8. I feel you!! Sometimes I feel like when I think about what I’m going to eat, it’s like I go through a library in my head based on what I’m going to do that day. I never just wing it or go with what I feel like having. I mean,I feel like having what I have, but that is guided by external factors.
    good luck!

  9. wow 🙂 great food pics hun 🙂 love the looks of those 😀

  10. natashaboruszok1992 says:

    Good for you trying to mix it up! I definitely understand how you can stick to safe foods and how breaking that habit can be difficult!
    xoxo

  11. Sarah says:

    Food ruts can be a pain, but one step at a time girl! You got this =

    I know this may be semi rude to ask (maybe) but ive been reading your blog from the begining and find you to be so inspirational. I recently caught the blogging bug and started my own. Except… i have no readers. Id feel honored if you would maybe give my lil blog a shot out on one of your posts? If not i understand, but it never hearts to ask right??

  12. I know exactly what you mean about being in a food rut! One of my October goals was to not eat the same things every day and I stuck to it all month and am so glad I did. Good for you for trying some new things, thats awesome! Your smoothies and apples with nut butter, granola and jam look delish!


Leave a Reply

