Cross Training My New BFF

I had my second physio appointment this morning. I came out of my session utterly and completely frustrated. Running is my life it’s what helps me de-stress and is my ‘me time’. After a week of only cross training and cutting back on the load I am eager to get back into running. But that’s not happening anytime soon. 4-6 weeks was the time frame I was given until my injury will completely heal. The physio is going to try and get me up a running again hopefully in a week or 2 depending on how I go till next Tuesday’s appointment.

So obviously I’m concerned about losing my fitness! Starting this weekend I have been given the all clear to ramp up my cross training. So at least I’ll be maintaining fitness without putting any strain on my injured foot.

To try and keep my spirits up I’m taking this as an opportunity to explore and enjoy other activities 🙂

Here’s a little rundown on some of the Cross Training ill be doing.

  • Water Running
  • Swimming
  • Stationary Bike
  • Stabilization
  • Light Weights

Hopefully by taking this conservative approach will speed up the recovery process.

Not going to lie today put me in a bad mood all day. Being sidelined from running is disappointing and upsetting. I most likely won’t be competing next month either. The physio has told me not to lose hope completely and that I may still be able to make the upcoming races on the 6th & 13th November. But at this point I’m not so hopeful…I don’t think my times will be up to scratch.

I am trying very hard to think optimistically but right now that is a challenge.

Questions:

If You Have Been Injured or Currently Injured What Type Of Cross Training Did You Do?

Give Me Some Tips To Stay Sane!

13 Comments on “Cross Training My New BFF”

  1. whenever i was injured, i had to resort to the stationary bike. not fun 😦 i hope things get better!

  2. Sara K says:

    Ahh hang in there 🙂 I know it must be frustrating and disappointing; but it sounds like an opportunity in disguise

  3. Aww I am sorry you are struggling a bit with some mental setbacks around this! Swimming, the elliptical and strength training are good friends of mine when I am taking time off of running. Just try to hang in there for now, and remember your body needs this break for now 🙂

  4. I was on the arctrainer like it was my job. That is great that you are really seeing eye to eye with it. Cross training can only make you stronger. 🙂

  5. Tara says:

    Pool running = win. It’s boring and tough, but it’s a great cardio workout and similar to running. I wish I could do that right now! I don’t have access to a pool, so I’ve been using the bike. If it helps at all, everytime I’ve had to take a break and cross train with an injury, I have come back in equal or better shape than I was before – I believe you can too! We’re in the same boat here, and we will get through!

  6. Although I’ve never had a injury like that, I know a few people that resorted to swimming and really liked it 🙂

  7. Your cross training sounds like a great idea! I’ve never tried water running, but it sounds interesting 🙂

  8. Brittany says:

    Yay for finding good cross training..these are similar to what I do on running days off.

  9. do zumba! it’s a GREAT cardio workout and if you push yourself during class it’ll definitely add to your fitness…..or bikram yoga. man that’s tough!

  10. pbbrittany says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this! It must be so frustrating since you love running so much! I think cross training is great because, for me, it always builds up my endurance! I hope everything works out for you! I’m keeping me fingers crossed for you 🙂

  11. aww im so sorry you have to go through that :/
    i know its hard when u can’t do things you love. BELIEVE ME. its sort of like how i LOVED horsebackriding but my teacher moved and now there is nowhere that I like that I want to go. its so hard…
    Hope that helps! Hope you recover in no time and just enjoy the break! Take some time for yourself and don’t obsess over mantaining your fitness TOO bad 🙂
    xo

  12. Aww I feel you, I pretty much have to rely on cross training to stay fit so I know how you feel!
    I’d definitely recommend using the stationary bike and mixing it up with intervals and hill climbs etc 🙂
    Hope you get better and up and running again soon but in the meantime just take it easy and relax, a couple of weeks off won’t hurt!

  13. lapiattini says:

    Keep your head up girl. It must be really hard to hear that you need a break from something you love, but try to look at it as an opportunity to try something new, like maybe a Spinning class since you can use a stationary bike!


Leave a Reply

