Sunday Day of Rest…Well Kind of!

5am: Coffee + some Light Stretches + psyching myself up for my race

6:15am: Leave Home

7am: Register and begin Warming Up for 8k Race

8am: Well my race started a little after…races never start on time!

A little while later I finally make it towards the finishing line (thanks to my mum for snapping this for me).

I managed to nab 1st place for the Female’s! It was a small field of runners so they don’t break it up into age groups. We were all lumped in together. Very flat course, no shade but it was around the bay so the view was awesome.

The stress fracture in my left foot gave me a lot of trouble towards the end of the race. I was in excruciating pain for the rest of the day. Even though I was given the all clear to run…I probably should have given this race a miss.

I spent the rest of the day with my leg propped up ice on and off, catching up on blogs and watching TV. I foresee several physio appointments this week!

Now I’m spending my Sunday evening downloading songs offΒ  itunes and making adjustments to my workout plan for the week πŸ™‚

Just from reading some of your blogs I know there are a few of you who are racing this weekend. So Good Luck! (If you’ve already raced I’m sure you did great).

Hope Your All Enjoying What’s Left Of The Weekend πŸ™‚

18 Comments on “Sunday Day of Rest…Well Kind of!”

  1. Wow amazing job on that race! First? That is so exciting πŸ™‚

  2. Sara K says:

    First place! Congratulations, that’s incredible πŸ™‚ You deserve all the rest and itunes and television right now πŸ™‚

  3. OMG CONGRATS GIRL! you still got 1st w/ an injury and that shows how amazing u are!
    feel beetter!!

  4. Congrats! That’s awesome!
    Enjoy the rest of your day of rest πŸ˜€

  5. Congrats for getting 1st place! That’s awesome especially with a fracture.

  6. natashaboruszok1992 says:

    CONGRATS GIRL!!!!!!! That’s awesome!

  7. jenandberries says:

    That’s fab what an achievment!! Even with a stress fracture, wow I’m impressed girl! Be sure to rest it now though πŸ™‚

  8. First place!!! Woot! Woot! Great job! And with a stress fracture in your foot… incredible. Sorry about that, though… not fun. 😦 I hope it gets feeling better soon… though in my experience stress fractures take a little while to heal… so make sure you take it easy, girl.

    What was your time? We don’t often run 8ks out here… is that a common race distance for you? I’m not sure I’ve ever done an 8k actually. Cool.

    I hope your upcoming week is as great as your first place Sunday!!! πŸ™‚

    • 8k is not a distance I normally race in…this was actually the first one I’ve done in a while. My time was super slow 33:08! I was ready to stop and walk by the time I reached the 6k mark.

      I shouldn’t have raced at all, and by the looks of things I won’t be racing till November/December now!

  9. Woo congrats on the first place!! πŸ™‚
    Sorry about your foot though, I know how annoying it is to have to tailor your workout plans!
    Just take it easy for the week πŸ™‚
    You are such an early riser, I really wish I had that ability!
    Should probably start going to bed earlier πŸ˜›

  10. Tara says:

    First of all, congrats on an awesome race! I was gonna say – there is not a single person near you in that photo, so you must have been kickin’ butt!

    Also, I am in the exact same position as you are. My gluteal muscle and lower back have been bothering me, but I ran through it. Now every step hurts 😦 hopefully we both feel better fast!!

  11. Wow, congratulations!! You look stunning in that pic – very beautiful πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely day and rest up!
    xoxo Mel

  12. 1st place??!?! dang girl you are impressive πŸ˜€

  13. Awesome job!
    Have a great week! πŸ™‚

  14. Wow congrats! That’s fantastic–first place! It doesn’t get any better than that. πŸ™‚

    I have had a stress fracture before. SO painful and icky. Hope it finishes healing soon!

  15. Congratulations on your placement, Isabelle!
    I’m glad you had fun :)))
    Also, you look stunning on that picture – so determined and strong, haha. Again – congrats! You definitely deserved it :)))
    xoxoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

