Reversing A Bad Week

My week started off quite well. I had a fantastic Long Run on Sunday, fab recovery run Monday morning followed by Sprints in the afternoon.

Tuesday was where it just went downhill from there. I had my usual 2 x45min sessions of Intervals on the Stationary Bike planned. I got through the first set before the bike started playing up. I managed to complete 20mins of the second set before I gave up called it quits. I tried changing the power cord turning it off and on a billion times. So I just left it at that and hoped that by Thursday it would come back to life.

Anyway this put me in a funky mood for Wednesday’s Hill Sprints. The quality of the sprints were just not up to scratch. I went to bed early that night and promised myself that I would just chill out and not let it get to me if the bike still played up the next day for my workout. Good thing I had a back up plan because the bike is now dead! So Thursday’s workout ended up consisting of a 30min Tempo run, 10 x Strides and Stabilization. Let’s just say that even after that workout I was still in a crappy mood.

This week just reminded me that I need to stop worrying about things I can’t control. I think I might have to add this to my list of October Goals!

What I learned from this week: Relax and take each day as it comes.

So it’s Friday and I plan of reversing my bad week or at least try and salvage what’s left of it! Attacking the weekend with optimism 🙂

Remedy for a bad week: Running Quotes 🙂

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'”
– Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.”
-PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian

“Every day is a good day when you run.”
-Kevin Nelson

“Running long and hard is an ideal antidepressant, since it’s hard to run and feel sorry for yourself at the same time. Also, there are those hours of clearheadedness that follow a long run.”
-Monte Davis

“If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.”
-Priscilla Welch

Have A Great Weekend 🙂

24 Comments on “Reversing A Bad Week”

  1. […] the rest here: Reversing A Bad Week « cheesymiteapples admin in Diabetes Articles on October 07 2011 » 0 comments Tags: chill-out-and, Fab, […]

  2. Errign says:

    Hope you have a great weekend too 🙂

  3. Sara K says:

    Great quotes; I hope your weekend looks better 🙂

  4. Sorry you had a bad week, hope you have a much better weekend!
    Brilliant quotes 🙂

  5. In the words of Rihanna-Cheers to the freaking weekend. I hope yours lightens up girl.

  6. survivingcandyland says:

    That parfait you made looks awesome! Hope your weekend is amazing.

  7. hope you have a good weekend! my weeks been hard too. so much school work I don’t even have weekends 😦

  8. Tara says:

    I love that Patti Sue Plumer quote! Reading inspiring running quotes always puts me in a good mood. It makes me think about what I want to do in the long run in my running career rather than freak out over a few bad days. Hope all is well this weekend!

  9. I need to print these quotes off for sure. This is the inspiration I need to get running again 😀

  10. I love the quotes, and I definitely need to learn how to not worry about what I can’t control, too…

  11. Rachel says:

    my favorite running quote is “Jogging is very beneficial. It’s good for your legs and your feet. It’s also very good for the ground. If makes it feel needed.” from charlie brown 🙂 i FOR SURE need to work on not worrying about things that are out of my hands… but man it’s so hard!

  12. I hope your weekend is fantastic! I really need to work on letting things go too…

  13. Those are some great quotes! Hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

  14. i hope your weekend turns out to be amazing 🙂 and i love the quote at the end!!

  15. pbbrittany says:

    I hope your weekend turns out FANTASTIC because you deserve it girl. and I’m so happy that you’re trying to not let it get to you, thats the hardest!

    by the way, I’m always so jealous of your parfaits. They look amazing 🙂

  16. kaliesthoughts says:

    awwwww sorry you had a bad week

  17. These running quotes are great, thanks for sharing 🙂 P.S – All your eats look amazing 🙂

  18. Great quotes. I love the one about running being an antidepressant – so true!

  19. I love your advise..’relax and take each day as it comes’ and I love your food pictures! 🙂

  20. fab! the quotes just put me in a great running frame of mind! thanks 🙂

  21. I actually had a very similar week… Started out well as far as running and even just life… getting stuff done…. but then kinda lost steam. Those quotes were super helpful. Thank you! Hope this next week is an awesome one for both of us!!! 🙂

  22. rostumetru says:

    Very smart good luck


Leave a Reply

