Running Negative Splits

It’s the end of the week and the end of the month. First Saturday of the month tomorrow which means 10k Club Handicap Race for me.

Since last months handicap race I’ve been progressively working towards running a negative split 10k for October’s race! I thought this would be an ideal race strategy for this upcoming run. I figured it would also help me run my own race and not just sprint off with everyone else in the beginning! So while everyone is running fast for the first mile ill be holding back a bit and sticking with my race plan πŸ™‚ I’m hoping that my pacing skills are getting better and I will attain optimal race results.

A little rundown on what a Negative Split is for non runners. In a nutshell a negative split is when your speed increases during the run so the second half is faster than the first half. The speed increase can either be a minimal or a substantial amount. (ie; running a bit slower for the first third of the run, pick up the pace in the middle and finish with strength & speed). For every runner this will be different depending on what their goal time is!

Twice a week during my interval sessions (Tuesday & Thursday) I’ve been practicing negative splits. From this I took note at how much better I felt during/after a speed workout. My negative split abilities still need a little fine tuning but I am getting there!

The Plan for Saturday Morning:

  • Start the race 10-20secs per mile slower than my race pace
  • Gradually build up speed as I near the middle of the race
  • Once I’ve hit my race pace I will start to pass as many tired runners as I can

It will take some self control but I will not be tempted to speed up when all the other runners fly by in the beginning. lol I can just imagine the conversation that will be going on in my head tomorrow morning.

I didn’t get to capture many of my eats today. So you will have to use your imaginations!

5:45am- 5k Run

Post Run- Green Tea, Oatmeal with Mixed Berries, Chai Seeds, Vanilla Creme Protein Powder and a dash Mixed Spice

Later that morning I went to grab some coffee with my dad. I was still feeling hungry and the cafe we went to was still serving breakfast. So I ordered their Seasonal Fruit Bowl with Citrus Yogurt.

Spent the rest of the morning shopping! I ended up buying a new running crop…couldn’t help myself (even though my wardrobe overflows with running gear).

Lunch was eaten at a different restaurant. I’ve been here about a dozen times and I always get the same thing either something with Salmon and combine that with the Greek Salad. But today I ordered off their Breakfast menu! I went with the Muesli, Honey Yogurt, Milk, Fruit and Chai Latte πŸ™‚

I was feeling tired this afternoon so I skipped my workout that I had planned and just relaxed. Saving myself for tomorrow!

Pre-Dinner Snack- Strawberries & Green Tea + Sesame Snaps

Well I hope you’ve all had a lovely week πŸ™‚

Weekend Plans? Saturday 10k race, Sunday 15k Long Run & I’m going to the Zoo for my friends B’day!

19 Comments on “Running Negative Splits”

  1. buttonss - Cherie says:

    Wooh good luck with the run!
    Your oats just keep getting better and better. Chia seeds are the bessst in oats!!

  2. Good luck with your run! This weekend I’m working A LOT, running, and working on some school stuff. Oh and tonight is my best friends going away party 😦 He is moving to Hawaii.

  3. Good luck with your negative split running. That is typically how I run my races and believe me…nothing beats the feeling of passing so many dead people towards the middle/end of a race. πŸ™‚

  4. Good luck this weekend, Isabelle! I used to run cross country when I was in fourth and fifth grade, and that’s always how a started out and finished. My coach once had me try starting out faster in a meet, almost sprinting, and I hated it. My time wasn’t as best as it could me either! I think negative split running was for me πŸ˜‰

    This weekend, I might help my dad coach some kids for their Y soccer game. I’m kind of excited πŸ™‚ I love coaching.

    I hope negative split running works out for you; I’m sure you’ll do awesome!

  5. Your weekend is going to be full of racing! πŸ™‚ Sounds like fun—good luck!!

  6. Shannon says:

    Have a great time at the race! You’ll do great! πŸ™‚
    I dont have any big weekend plans..

  7. pbbrittany says:

    Good luck with your run, and your race this weekend! and going to the zoo is awesome!! I love seeing all the animals, especially the lions, tigers, and bears (OH MY! πŸ˜› )

  8. lapiattini says:

    Ooo what are sesame snaps? I’m intrigued.
    Good luck with your run!

  9. Tara says:

    I love finishing a run and seeing negative splits on my garmin. It happens more often when I’m running alone though. I wish I knew my splits during my races, but we’re not allowed to wear watches! usually my first mile is the fastest… I should work on that!
    Good luck in your 10k! I’ve got a 5k myself. Let’s kick asssss!

  10. Jay says:

    Hy,
    good luck on your run..
    chanced upon your space while blog hopping…
    awesome space you have..
    very interesting posts..
    Am your happy subscriber now..:)
    do stop by mine sometime.
    Tasty Appetite

  11. Negative splitting is hard, nice work on it!
    Good luck with the race this weekend πŸ™‚

  12. hey sweetie! Good luck with your negative split goal! It’s always so great to end a race with power and speed instead of getting slower towards the end πŸ™‚ Enjoy the zoo!

  13. All the best on your run! I know you’ll be fab πŸ™‚

  14. good luck with your run! you’ll not them dead i’m sure πŸ˜‰

  15. survivingcandyland says:

    Good luck on your run! I bet you did awesome.

  16. kaliesthoughts says:

    I hope you did well?

  17. I hope your run went well!
    You’re so motivating girl, you make me want to get up and running too!


Leave a Reply

