It’s Sunday Already

The only reason why we ask other people how their weekend was is so we can tell them about our own weekend.
~Chuck Palahniuk

Well another weekend flies by!

Weekend Highlights:

I started off Saturday morning with a 10k club run. Finished the run with a time of 40:55. Felt great throughout the run and managed to keep up with the guys for the first 7k. I dropped back for the next 2k and for the last 1k I decided to kick it a bit and see if I could at least have them in my sight. I finished 33secs behind the guys so I was extremely happy with this result.

Breakfast Post-Run: Green Tea, Yogurt, Banana & Apple & Cinnamon Muffin

Sunday’s Long Run was a 7am start. The weather was Grey but the rain held off till the very end of the run. For this run I decided to run with my dad’s running club. So the run mapped out for today was a 13.1k at 6mins per k. I stuck with the group for the first 1k then decided to pick up the pace. Two other guys were game to break away as well so I joined them and we increased the pace. Even though we ran at a faster pace it was still comfortable enough to hold a conversation! Overall awesome run and great company. I will definitely be doing my Sunday long runs with this group from now on. I’m glad I went πŸ™‚

I spent Sunday Afternoon re-evaluating the events I will be competing in for the next 3 months. I’ve come to the decision that I will have to skip a few races. Less might have to be better at this stage. I think this will be best for me in the long run. After being pain free for about a week my left knee decided to be a pain after the run ugh! Looks like I will be taping it for tomorrow’s recovery run. This week I will be going through the whole process again of icing it after each run & heating packs before bed. I want to be ready for this coming Saturday’s 10k Club Handicap Race.

Sorry I don’t have photos of my weekend edibles but I wasn’t home all Saturday and for most of Sunday!

Workout Plan for the week:

Monday: AM-5k Recovery Run, PM-Short Sprints

Tuesday: PM-2 x45min Intervals on the Bike

Wednesday: AM-Hill Sprints & Light Weights

Thursday: PM-2 x45min Intervals on the Bike

Friday: AM-5k Recovery Run

Saturday: 10k Club Handicap Race

Sunday: Long Run 10-15k

How Was Everyone Else’s Weekend?

14 Comments on “It’s Sunday Already”

  1. Woah! Awesome speedy 10k! Your workout plan sounds awesome! I cannot wait to hear how it goes this week! What is the handicap race? Sounds wicked cool!

    • Thanks. Handicap races are basically staggered start times with the slowest starting first and fastest last. The aim is to catch up and over take as many of the runners who started before you and at the same time not let anyone who started after you catch up!

  2. Shannon says:

    Congrats on all the great runs! πŸ™‚
    I love green tea with my breakfast..especially in the winter when its FREEZING here!! πŸ™‚

  3. Sara K says:

    40:55, great time! Congratulations on the run; you have got marvelous stamina πŸ™‚

  4. great time! and the post run meal looks delicious πŸ™‚

  5. Woah, awesome run:)
    All I did was work this weekend. I had a bad run yesterday, but I’m going to make up for it today!

  6. great run sweetie! hehee! I ask people about their weekends when I don’t really have anything interesting to say!

  7. pbbrittany says:

    phew- you are so fast!! Good job on all your runs! πŸ˜€

  8. Tara says:

    Oh my goodness, you are little miss speedy! Please move to the US and train with me? I’ve actually never raced a 10k before. I want you to be my pacer, though I’d probably fall behind. You’re amazing!

  9. hippierunner says:

    Sounds like fun! I hope your knee feels better!


Leave a Reply

