Easing Back Into Speed Work

Waking up on Monday Morning’s is normally the worst feeling ever! Another week to count down till the next weekend.

I overcame my Monday Blues with a low intensity 5k Recovery Run. I jogged my usual route then followed up with some Chocolate Milk and Stretched when I returned home.

I went with something I had been craving this morning for Breakfast: Fruit Plate (Grapefruit, Kiwi Fruit and a Banana with PB&J.

Few hours later I snacked on some Cucumber sticks, Sesame Snaps & Dates.

The good thing about Monday’s for me = No classes. I generally use this to do some cleaning, and indulge in one of my fave pastimes reading! I’ve been pretty slack lately on setting time aside for myself to just escape into a good book and relax my mind.

So I decided to finish off a novel that I had set aside. Secret Daughter By Shilpi Somaya Gowda. I’d been wanting to finish this book but lately I’ve been tired and there’s always a million things that need to be done.

As a Social Work student I was attracted to the theme of adoption in this particular book and the effects on both the birth family, adoptee and the adoptive family. The book has a good plot, and the author captures the anguish of motherhood and a child’s search for her origins through two interwoven stories. It was hard to believe that this was Shilpi’s first novel she ties together adoption, family and search for one’s self quite nicely.

In between reading/relaxing I was craving Sushi for lunch. So I went to pick some up to enjoy with my usual Mixed Berry Parfait.

This was a very filling lunch and got me through my afternoon training session.

Afternoon Workout: Since this was my first speed work session in approx 2 weeks. I decided to do Strides (less then 200m of faster running). My main focus in here was working on running form -Strong torso, Arm swing, Leg speed. Overall this was a gentle but effective workout. So my workout consisted of a Warm Up, Stretch, Formal set of Strides, Warm Down & Stretch. I came home and of course had some Chocolate milk and followed this up with an Ice Bath.

Then I was free to enjoy the rest of the evening “actively resting” and do some more reading 🙂

Hoping You All Have a Great Start to the Week!

20 Comments on “Easing Back Into Speed Work”

  1. that post workout meal looks awesome!! hope you have a great week as well! 🙂

  2. Christie says:

    GIVE ME that fruit plate:) YUM

  3. Brittany says:

    Ohhhhh parfait you have me drooooling.

  4. Casey says:

    Your sushi looks fantastic! Now I want some! 🙂

    Happy Monday—sounds like you had a good workout to start it off!

  5. Shannon says:

    Your fruit plate looks soo good! I love having fresh fruit as a snack and as a side with my breakfast or lunch 🙂
    Have a great week, too!! 🙂

  6. pbbrittany says:

    I love all your food 😛 The fruit and parfait look freaking amazing!
    Hope you’re having a great day 😀

  7. Sara K says:

    I’ve been dying to read Secret Daughter! It’s definitely my next purchase; I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it!
    Oh and I’m certainly craving sushi now that I’ve seen that plate 😉

  8. Thank fruit plate looks amazing!

  9. buttonss - Cherie says:

    Your fruit plate looks so yummy.
    Its reminding me of how long its been since I had grapefruit. I love sprinkling it with sugar.

  10. jenandberries says:

    Great workout! And the fruit plate looks amazing, I always forget how great grapefruit is!

  11. I love grapefruit in the morning 🙂 That book sounds really interesting, thanks for sharing 🙂

  12. Glad you could get some striders in. I love how simple but effective they are. You will back to your full blown speed workouts soon! 🙂

  13. that sushi looks gooood!!! =)
    -Christina ❤

  14. I’ve been downing bananas and pb as of late haha. I love your fruit plate! And I’m drooling over your sushi 😀 I almost picked some up today, but knew I didn’t have room in my little dorm room fridge!

  15. Stephanie says:

    All of your snacks/meals look amazing. I’m craving sushi and fruit in a bad way right now. I’m pretty much ~always~ craving sushi and fruit, hahaha!

  16. Good job on the race Sunday, you still did so well and you are on awesome runner lady 🙂
    Great workout too, that is a good way to get back into speed work as opposed to taking too much on too soon

  17. lapiattini says:

    Mmmm that fruit dish looks really good.
    Thanks for the book info- I’m almost done with The Help and need a replacement 🙂

  18. runningonapples says:

    fruit plates are awesome! I never liked grapefruit though- so tart!

  19. Tara says:

    I love doing strides – I feel so quick, but they don’t really tax me too much! It’s a great option for your first workout. I also think your breakfast sounds awesome – I love fruit soo much!


Leave a Reply

