Sunday’s Race Strategy/Tactics

Here’s my plan and race strategy for the 9k race on Sunday! I’m going to treat it as though it was a 10k race though.

Nutrition wise this week I’ve been eating foods like pasta & rice with my dinner. Lots of fruit and veggies throughout the day pretty much with every meal/snack. Yogurt, Chocolate Milk and Protein Shakes have been my source of Protein.

Rest & Recovery: This has been a bit of a challenge for me considering my sleeping patterns have been slightly erratic this past week. Waking up at unheard of hours! But these next 2 days I will try and get 8hrs of sleep and Ill most likely have an afternoon nap on Saturday. Hopefully this will help with muscle recovery and relaxation!?

Strategy: ok so my race starts at 9am. Pre-Race I plan on having my usual Black Coffee + Protein Powder with 200ml water. Ill warm up about 8:30am for about 15mins (moderate intensity jogging) and follow that up with 5mins of Stretching. I’m going to try and line up as close as possible to the front. When the gun goes off ill start at at a moderate pace for the first 2k. I will make up the time in the next 5-6k.

Things I’ve got to remember:

  • Don’t go out too fast
  • Maintain good posture/form
  • Relaxed Breathing
  • Concentrate on the middle k’s
  • Stay mentally tough pain is only temporary
  • Finish hard and try and overtake as many runners as possible

My workouts and eats these past 2 days have looked something like this:

Thursday: 2 x 45min sessions on the bike

Friday: 5k run + 45mins on the bike

Ahhh this week went so quickly. I’m not complaining though 🙂

What’s Everyone’s Plans For the Weekend? Saturday Morning I plan on walking the course and then chilling, stretching & sleeping for the rest of the day.

16 Comments on “Sunday’s Race Strategy/Tactics”

  1. This week did go by so fast!! Haha I have literally no plans this weekend 🙂

  2. I have a very hilly race tomorrow. Wahh-I’m super nervous but I’ll just go for it like I always do lol. You have such a great strategy lined up. I wish I was as overzealous and put more thought into my modes of attack lol.

  3. Sara K says:

    Wow it’s friday already?! My plans: more job applying and going to a corporate party with one of my friends- it should be fun though 🙂

  4. jessy says:

    Mmmm this all looks very good 🙂

  5. I am psyched that it’s Friday already, this week zoomed by!
    You have a wonderful strategy here, good luck!!

  6. Tara says:

    I like the idea of coming up with a race strategy! I think I will definitely have to try this out. I guess I can start tomorrow, since I’ve got a 5k! I’m really good about my breathing, but I think it’s a great goal and something a lot of people forget. I need to work on my kick!

  7. Shannon says:

    I hope you have a great time at the race! I know youll do awesome! 🙂

    I dont have any plans for this weekend except study and do homework.. I have 5 exams this upcoming week. 😦

  8. pbbrittany says:

    I also cannot believe that it’s the weekend! Where did this week go?
    Good luck on your race tomorrow! I love that you have written down everything you need to focus on, especially staying mentally tough (this is always a big one for me when I’m running. It’s all mental for me). I can’t wait to hear how it went!!

    Best of luck to ya!
    This weekend: I’m piled with homework, and I’m gunna do some baking tomorrow, with hopefully early long run!

  9. the week totally shot by! i love eating pasta and rice the night before a big soccer game–it gives me a ton of energy in the morning!
    good luck on your race, i know you’re gonna rock it! 🙂

  10. jenandberries says:

    run and biking? you are a powerhouse! Wish you all the best in the race on Sunday, if you do all those things you’re gonna do great!

  11. I completely agree about the week flying by! Sounds like you have a pretty great strategy. Your eats look fantastic 🙂

  12. good luck! you’ll do great i’m sure 🙂

    this weekend i’m doing my first half marathon! woot woot!

  13. Simply Life says:

    good luck on the race!


Leave a Reply

