Tapering

I hate scaling back on training but due to injury I’ve had to for the last week and a half. Which hasn’t been so bad since I’m racing on Sunday (conserving my energies).

If I hadn’t been injured I would have tapered properly in the lead up to this race. I don’t believe in tapering for all races just a few key one’s throughout the year. Otherwise I wouldn’t have time for training if I tapered for each and every single race, I’ve learnt to train through some races.

In the lead up to an important race I try and find a balance between maintaining my best possible racing fitness and resting to reduce the fatigue of training. I generally cut back on mileage, but maintain training intensity.

So that being said a Well Planned Taper Program for me looks like this :

Amount to Reduce Mileage before Race (5k-10k races)

  • 3 Weeks before Race – 0%
  • 2 Weeks before Race – 20%
  • Race Week – 50%

Tapering for me in general allows my body to recover both physically and mentally so I can perform at 100% 🙂

Workout this Morning: 5k run + Light Weights (Shoulder Press 15 reps x2, Side Raise 15 reps x2, Bicep Curls 20 reps x2)

Some but not all of my edibles:

Halfway Through the Week Already 🙂 I’m breathing a sigh of relief already!

19 Comments on “Tapering”

  1. buttonss - Cherie says:

    Ohh those oats!! They look delish, you know how i love my oats.
    Hope your injury heals quickly!! It must be frustrating 😦

  2. Tara says:

    I guess I don’t really taper because I race every weekend, but I definitely go easy for a few days before hand and my milage isn’t as high since I cut out long runs. Once the base building is done and I’m in season, my milage drops up to 20 miles from where I started since I’m constantly racing.

  3. hope you heal soon! xo
    addin u to my blogroll 🙂

  4. Christie says:

    I am tapering too and it is KILLING me! My leg finally heals and I have to cut back. It’s good for us I guess:) You are going to do great at the race Sunday!

  5. Wahh. Tapering. I know how you feel. With cross country, we train through a lot of races which makes it better when the taper works wonders. Good luck in your race!

  6. All your eats look great! I spy some smoked salmon, I’ve got to try that again 🙂

  7. Shannon says:

    your eats look really good! blueberries and bananas are awesome with oats! 🙂

    Hope you feel better really really soon!

  8. pbbrittany says:

    Amen to being halfway through the week!! I can’t wait for Thursday to be over tomorrow!!
    all the eats look delicious and put my food to shame 🙂
    Have a great day!

  9. Sara K says:

    Such colourful, lovely looking eats 🙂
    Ahh, I know tapering must be frustrating, but it’ll help decrease your recovery time; best wishes 🙂

  10. Julia says:

    I’m always bad at tapering because I like running the same amount all the time haha

  11. Your food photos always make me hungry. And I just ate dinner 😦 Wah

  12. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    I’ve only done one marathon, but I remember the taper week as my favorite part 😀 You can tell I’m NOT a true racer at heart haha

  13. Yum! Your eats are looking might tasty 🙂

  14. I know nothing about running so I can’t comment on tapering only to say that I hope you heal soon! And that parfait looks delicious 🙂 You always make me crave them!

  15. jenandberries says:

    Great idea tapering, it will so be worth it! Loving your eats girl, the smoked salmon especially but it all looks gorgeous, and your workout looks awesome – definitely my sort of thing hehe

  16. Tapering is soo tough and uncomfortable but is incredibly beneficial for you! Just think, you are going to perform that much better with some rest 🙂 Good luck!!

  17. caloricandcrazy says:

    Your edibles in this post look so great! I just had breakfast and they’re making me drool! 😛


Leave a Reply

