Weekend Highlights

Saturday Morning was one of those mornings when I not only beat my alarm clock but also woke up at an obscene time. 4:30am anyone!? Yeah and couldn’t fall back alseep….I’ve been having a lot of these morning recently.

So I made myself a Black Coffee and caught up on some blogs.

Later that morning I had a 10k club run. I taped my knee and it held up. Thankfully!! So my time was 43:25, which for me is good with an injury and all.

Post Run Brekkie: Oats topped with Protein Powder & Banana Slices.

The rest of my Saturday was spent helping out at my Parish/Church Fete. I was stuck indoors most of the afternoon counting money and tallying up the profits from each stall. I got a chance to browse through the book stall and cake stall! I did buy a homemade Fruit Cake which I enjoyed as a bedtime snack later that evening.

Afternoon Snack when I got home consisted of Green Tea, an Orange & finished off what was left of the Walnuts. Slice of Fruit Cake before getting some zzzz!

Then Sunday morning started off pretty much the same except a little earlier 4am! Coffee + Blog reading and I may have danced around my room a little whilst listening to my i pod 🙂

Fast Forward to 6am. I went on a 15k easy run with my dad. Which wasn’t so bad. I find it harder on my legs to run slowly consistently as opposed to just running at a faster pace all the way through! I think that’s just me!?

Since I didn’t have to be at my younger cousins Confirmation till midday. I made myself Sweet Carrot Oats (a recipe I had bookmarked a while back). There are so many recipes that I want to try from Heather’s blog!

I topped my Sweet Carrot Oats with Banana Slices (I also went a little crazy with the cinnamon this morning whilst prepping my oats).

Since I have a 5k run scheduled for tomorrow morning I’m going to make her Shredded Apple Oats as my Post Run Brekkie 🙂 I’m already looking forward to breakfast!

From midday onwards today was spent with extended family who had gathered to celebrate my cousin Emily’s Confirmation! The Church was packed to capacity and I had to stand outside and listen to the mass (they did have a flat screen set up so people outside could see what was going on). The mass was super long! Lunch which was late was at an Italian Restaurant Called Deniros.

It was a set menu.

Starters: Bruschetta & Herb Bread (I had both)

Entree: Penne Sicilliana – short tube pasta tossed with eggplant, basil & tomato served with napoletana sauce.

Main: Vitello Alla Parmigiana – Veal Slices Layered with eggplant & mozzarella cheese served with napoletana sauce.

Dessert: This was a cake that my Aunt and Uncle had made for my cousins confirmation!

And now I’m enjoying a slice of the leftover cake before soaking in a nice hot bath before bed 🙂

I Hope You All Had A Lovely Weekend!

12 Comments on “Weekend Highlights”

  1. 430?! cheee, no I have neva woken up that early on a Saturday! Maybe stayed up that late…haah 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    I woke up earlier than usuall today, caught up on some blogs AND had topped my oatmeal with banana slices too. Great minds think a like 😀
    Have fun on your 5k tomorrow!

  3. Yummers glad you liked the oats! And you aren’t the only one… I find it tougher on my legs when I run slower too.

  4. Woah that happened to me yesterday too! I woke up at 5 and I just couldn’t fall back asleep. So I stayed awake. Ha.

  5. lovetotrain says:

    hi,sounds like you had a jam packed weekend so far! I have also been up at obscene hours… ( from my cold though) its kinda annoying!

  6. Oh my gosh that’s so early! How do you manage that, what time do you normally go to sleep??
    Sounds like you’ve had a great weekend, that Italian meal sounds really delicious 🙂

  7. Tara says:

    I hate when I wake up and can’t fall asleep! I actually get super anxious about that. I’m afraid of not being able to sleep. It freaks me out! I agree with you – running fast is easier than running slow. Running slow just feels unnatural.

  8. jenandberries says:

    Oh wooow that must be rather annoying to not get back to sleep and then have a run! Black coffee to the rescue! I fully believe you can never go too crazy with cinnamon. Glad you had a nice confirmation dinner at least ;P

  9. Wow that’s super early! Sounds like you had a very busy weekend, but with lots of yummy eats 🙂

  10. Julia says:

    that cake loooks so good! Glad all your runs went well =)


Leave a Reply

