Physio & Workout Plan

So this morning’s physio appointment went well. Chondromalacia of the patella (runner’s knee)! I already knew what I had before I went. In a nutshell my left kneecap has moved out of its track & has pulled and twisted to the side. I tend to overpronate (rolling my foot in) when I run…always been this way since I was a kid. In addition the physio said my knee was further aggravated by overuse. I’ve been advised to back off Hill and Speed Work (not going to lie I was a little upset when he said I couldn’t do any sprint training) and to try to run on a level surface as much as possible.

Treatment: Patience being number 1 on the list. Icing my knee immediately after each workout, before bed heating pad for an hour and some thigh strengthening exercises.

My knee taped and ready for this afternoon’s workout thanks to my physio Kenny (I’ve seen him since I was about 15/16?).

Workout: 2 x 45min Sessions on the Stationary Bike

Post Workout: Chocolate Milk & Oatmeal topped with Vanilla Creme Protein Powder, Yogurt and Mixed Spice

My Brekkie this morning: Oatmeal with Mixed Berries and Chopped Apple

Snack on the go: I grabbed this to eat on the way to the Physio. Strawberries, Laughing Cow Cheese & Sesame Snaps.

Lunch: Cauliflower & Sugar Snap Peas (drizzled in BBQ Sauce) + Yogurt, Muesli & Berry Parfait

So here’s the plan I worked out with my Physio for the remainder of the week! My usual 5k run had to be altered so it’s as flat as possible.

Wednesday: 5k Run + Light Weights

Thursday: 2 x 45min Sessions on the Bike or 1x 45mins Bike & 30min Tempo Run

Friday: 5k Run & 45mins Bike

Saturday: 10k Run

Sunday: Rest

Yeah so with proper management I should be able to still compete on the 18th September. So I’m just focused on sticking with what I’ve been told to do πŸ™‚

13 Comments on “Physio & Workout Plan”

  1. Glad to hear your appt went well! Your parfair looks so refreshing. Mmm may be my breakfast for this morning? πŸ˜€

  2. Wahh. What did I miss? I’m going to explore your blog now that your knee is taped. I am glad your appointment went well!

  3. Glad the app. went well, sorry you can’t sprint for abit though….Yummm I love the sound of chocolate milk right now! Haha πŸ™‚

  4. That’s good the appointment went well, and you now have a plan for getting it to feel better…although patience can be a pain in itself sometimes! Awesome parfait, it looks yum!

  5. Christie says:

    Take good care of your knee so you can race like a speed demon πŸ™‚

    Oh- and I do Bikram classes… but daily Yoga is just from online clips or DVD’s.

  6. Keep resting and taking care of your knee girl, I know you are going to rock that race πŸ™‚

  7. Tara says:

    At least you can run, right? It would be awful if you had to completely switch over to cross training or something. I hope it heals up fast! It’s so cool that you’ve known your physio for so long. He must take great care of you!

  8. pbbrittany says:

    Glad your appointment went good!! Bummer that you have runners knee though, BUT you can still run so thats a major plus!
    Your food looks so good! I’m always so jealous when I see all the delicious things you’ve eaten! πŸ˜›

  9. sorry to hear about your knee!! 😦

  10. Aww poor you, I hope it gets better soon!
    Glad the appointment went well though πŸ™‚
    Your yogurt parfait looks delicious!

  11. lovetotrain says:

    oh deary dear… i have the exact same thing from years of running half marathons. i have it on the same side too!! don’t worry- there is hope!! it doesnt bother me anymore.. unless i push a little tooo hard in a workout and i feel a slight twinge then i stop and nothing even comes of it. the only time it really bothers me is when i push a trolley in the supermarket- how weird is that??!!


Leave a Reply

