Picking Yourself Up And Taking Off Where You Left Off From

This past year has been somewhat rocky for me, I’ve often felt I was taking two steps forward and one step back. The countless times I’ve had the urge to fall back into old habits and retreat back into my secret life of calorie counting and excessive exercise. But the number of times I’ve relapsed doesn’t matter because each time I haven’t dwelled on it and just kept moving forward.

The whole recovery process has allowed me to feel good about myself as well as a sense of peace & contentment. I’m now able to engage enthusiastically in things I used to love (friendships & sports). There have been moments when I’ve smiled to myself because I just know that I’m going to get there in the end!

Today was a perfect example of this 🙂

The first Saturday of each month at my club we have a 10km Handicap race. This means the participants don’t start at ‘Go’, but the starts are staggered based on the handicaps. So the slowest runner starts first and fastest starts last, this makes for an exciting race finish! By using the handicap system slow runners can compete against fast runners on an equal footing.

Having explained all that! My Saturday Morning started off bright and early with a 10km Handicap Race. To think I was feeling nervous about racing this morning! It turned out to be a fun race and I finally broke 43mins…something I hadn’t been able to do back when I wasn’t nourishing my body properly. Even though deep down I know I’m still a long way off from my best racing times, but today 43mins had me feeling elated.

  • Today I had the energy to do something I love and that is running 🙂 
  • Today I learnt that I can feel comfortable in my own body
  • Today I chose to leave my eating disorder behind
  • Today my mood and actions were not dictated by a number on the scale, amount of calories consumed or sit-ups performed.

Through what may seem like a slow and frustrating process I know that with persistence and courage it is possible to fully recover!

I’m not posting my eats today but I will leave you with what I treated myself to 😉

Running Gear of Course!!

And I’ve finally decided on which racing flats to get. They didn’t have my size at the store so I have to wait about a week before my new ASICS – PIRANHA SP 4 arrive 🙂

Wishing you all a lovely weekend!! I have a 5k Race tomorrow this one is bigger and against other Clubs. I will definitely will be posting a recap of tomorrows events/results 🙂

9 Comments on “Picking Yourself Up And Taking Off Where You Left Off From”

  1. The two steps forward, one step back feeling can be frustrating at times, but remember…your still moving forward! Thats so great that you were able to enjoy yourself at the race and feel comfortable! I love the running gear that you bought for yourself. It’s always nice to treat yourself now and then 🙂

  2. U GO GIR! this post makes me so happy!

  3. haleyy0806 says:

    YAY for recovery! Having a positive attitude really makes a HUGE difference so keep telling yourself to move forward and that you will for sure recover…and you will in no time 😀 We all go through that period where we feel like we’ve fallen back to square one, but bad days ARE allowed and don’t let them get you frustrated and down. You’re so great girl and good luck with your race!

  4. lovely post, so glad and inspiring to read that when you do have setbacks you are able to overcome them. I love running too, good luck with the race will be thinking of you.

  5. Tara says:

    Congrats on your amazing time!!! You should be so proud of yourself. Taking care of yourself is so important to achieving things even beyond running, but it sure does benefit performance! i love your new racing flats too. The color is SASSY!

  6. pbbrittany says:

    AW CONGRATULATIONS!! Thats amazing! Nourshing your body really helps with performance. The race sounds like a blast.
    I’m so happy for you! 😀 Kick that disorder in the butt and throw it out the window girl!

  7. Ahhh congratulations!! This post brings such a smile to my face, it shows how much better you are doing!
    Keep kicking ED’s ass, we are all so much better for it 🙂

  8. Love feel good days like this 🙂 Good job girl! Recovery is certainly not an easy process, but days like this make it seem all worth it!

  9. Great post girl! Congrats 🙂


Leave a Reply

