Workout Program for the week

Monday: 5km run + Intervals

Tuesday: 30min Tempo + 45min Stationary Bike

Wednesday: 5km run + Hill/Speed work, Light Weights

Thursday: 30min Tempo + 45min Stationary Bike

Friday: 5km run

Saturday: Race day!

Sunday: Long Run

This morning started off like an other typical morning. I was up at 5:30am and headed out for a 5km run. My usual 5km run includes 2 hills. 3km into my run I reach the first hill which is the steepest, today I decided to change it up a little and run up that hill twice then continue on with the remainder of my run. This worked out well for me! When I reached the last hill which is the last 100m of my run, I sprinted up and finished hard like I normally do. I’ve been feeling stronger in my runs and the Hill Training I’ve been doing is definitely paying off. Pushing myself up the hills during training will make it easier during races 🙂

Post Run: I had some Chocolate Milk. I’m trialing this for a while. We’ll see how it goes!


Breakfast: Spelt Maple & Almond Muesli + Yogurt + Blueberry Jam & Apple slices

Lunch: Spinach & Strawberry Salad + Mixed Berry Parfait (I drizzled the salad with extra light olive oil,balsamic vinegar & a crushed strawberry)

Afternoon workout consisted of Intervals, 10 x 100m with a jog recovery in between each set. I completed this at the track. I alternate between the Stationary Bike and running at the Track for interval workouts, I’ve found that this has been good cross training for me and a  great injury prevention strategy.

Post Afternoon Workout: Instant Oats + Peanut Butter + Cinnamon & Orange slices

I was feeling a little peckish before dinner. Baby beans, Baby Carrots & Peas

I fixed up a quick dinner tonight. Pasta with Snow Peas, Broccoli & Chilli Tuna.

I think the lack of sleep I’ve had for the last 3 nights has finally caught up to me. I’m heading to bed extra early tonight!

9 Comments on “Workout Program for the week”

  1. Meg says:

    Love going to bed early..kind of my guilty pleasure. And we’re talking 9 pm early. I’m a new girl with sleep!

    Let me know if the chocolate milk works!! Also your workout schedule looks so good you’re so organized I’m impressed!

  2. I haven’t had strawberries on my salad in so long, it looks tasty!

  3. Gotta love those hills!!! Awesome workout! I can’t wait to hear about your race!!

  4. Errign says:

    Great plan for the week. I’ve heard that choc milk is the like, the perfect recovery drink.

  5. Christie says:

    Your plan sounds great! Get to bed early to stock up on your ZZzzzz’s for the week 🙂

  6. Casey says:

    Your workouts are so inspiring!!

  7. Great workout plan!
    I love chocolate milk post-workout, it’s just the right amount filling and refreshing.

  8. Haley Q says:

    Yay for conquering those hills! It’s such a good feeling to run continuous hills without wanting to be shot by a car driving by. Good luck at your race this weekend!!

  9. Sara K says:

    You are one fitttttt lady from all those workouts!
    I had pasta too for dinner…except spaghetti with homemade pesto!


Leave a Reply

