Interval Training -Sprints & Hills

I dub myself ‘the sometimes lazy runner’. I love going on long or short runs, but when it comes to interval or tempo runs… I often have to motivate myself to not only do it but to also to give it 100%. When Wednesday morning rolls round I sometimes don’t look forward to it!

But Hill/Sprint work has really enhanced the length of my strides, lactate tolerance, it has also helped me to focus more on developing co-ordination with my arms. Overall my running technique has improved dramatically.

This morning I was up and raring to go at 5:30am! I completed my 5km run + Hill & Sprint Training and even did my Strength Workout when I got home. Shoulder Press 15 reps x2, Side Raise 15 reps x2, Bicep Curls 20 reps x2.

Breakfast: Raisin Toast & 1/2 Grapefruit

Morning Snack: Cucumber, Carrot sticks, Pickled Beetroot

Lunch: Toast with French Style Duck Pate spread & Smoked Salmon + an Orange

Afternoon Snack: Instant Oats & Apple mess

Watch out for my next post I’ve been tagged by the wonderful Tara over at XC Foodie for the Bootylicious Award!!

8 Comments on “Interval Training -Sprints & Hills”

  1. Haha apple mess! never heard that before πŸ™‚

  2. Sara K says:

    Ahhh I’m craving grapefruit so much! Bootylicious award? Haha can’t wait to see that post πŸ™‚

  3. Ooh I can’t wait to read that post, sounds intriguing!
    Raisin toast sounds yummy, what exactly is it?

  4. Meg says:

    Your eats all look so yummy!! I know what you mean about actually working on speed. I’m totally comfortable going at my moderate pace and when I push myself it, well, it hurts! But I’ve come to realize that’s the only way I’m going to get faster. I’ve gotta keep working on it!!

  5. Nice workout!
    I love grapefruit so much…and I miss it! I’m sooo going to have to get it!
    I’m excited to see your next post! πŸ™‚

  6. Tara says:

    Luckily during the season I have a coach to make me do workouts, but in the off season I lack motivation. Plus it’s nice to have my team pushing me in my workouts, I definitely slack when I’m on my own!
    Yaaay you so bootylicious πŸ™‚ can’t wait to see it!

  7. Hills/sprints aren’t my favorite either! Sounds like you had an intense and successful workout!


Leave a Reply

