The Long Run

Sunday for me traditionally has always been my ‘day of rest’, ‘lazy day’,’whatever I feel like workout’…you get the picture!? Hence on this day I would normally go for a long brisk walk or a light jog.

On the other hand my dad spends his Sunday mornings doing a 30km run! Just to give you guys a bit of background about my dad, he was quite a competitive basketball player back in the day (he used to train me in this too…but alas Basketball just wasn’t my sport). Now he runs in Half Marathons and Marathons and various other distance events.

Ok so just to get down to the point…yes there is a point to this post! Every runner knows that an integral part of their training program long runs need to be incorporated. Depending on what races you compete in competitively the distance and duration of your long runs will vary.

This is just a guideline: Race Distance/Duration of Long Run

  • 5km: 15-20km
  • 10km 18-24km
  • Half Marathon: 21-26km
  • Marathon: 28-38km

Supposedly our long runs should make up 15-35% of our weekly mileage in addition to being completed once every 7 to 14 days. Although for marathoners this is higher. The effort of this long run should also be easy with your heart rate in between 65 and 75% of your max.

Benefits of Long Runs:

  • Improvements in producing energy aerobically
  • Increase in the energy factories (mitochondria) of the muscles
  • Increase in the enzymes that allow the mitochondria to process fuel for energy
  • Increase in the number of oxygen carrying blood vessels in your blood
  • Improve your bodies ability to use fat as an energy fuel
  • Muscles will store more carbohydrates
  • Musculoskeletal system will become more resistant to injury
  • Increased mental toughness

So my question for you guys;

Do you go for Long Runs?

How long are your Long Runs?

How frequent are your Long Runs?

(This arrived on Friday in the mail. R4YL…my favorite running mag here in Australia! Spent a good portion of my weekend reading this cover to cover )

Well I’m off to Sunday Brunch! Also seeing Harry Potter this evening πŸ™‚

Hope you all make the most of your weekend.

15 Comments on “The Long Run”

  1. Sara K says:

    It’s been years since I’ve gone on a long run- I think I need to start training myself a little slowly before launching on one. Thanks for the benefits list though- very useful and interesting information

  2. When I was training for my half-marathon I did a two long runs (21km and 18km), and the rest were shorter. I actually prefer going slower and longer over fast and shorter. It gives me time to thing and enjoy the outdoors. πŸ™‚

  3. I personally LOVE my long runs, but my coach doesn’t believe in doing high mileage, or any more than 9 miles at a time, which bums me out a little. I am still going to fit in a few more long runs this summer, though. I’m super duper excited, though….CUZ I’M RUNNING A MARATHON NEXT JUNE! Yes, a full one! I will def
    make sure to squeeze in some long runs during spring track season.

  4. Well I’m more of a cyclist than a runner but I do try and do at least one long ride a week usually about 45 miles around 3 hours long their was a time last year where I was doing this 5 days a week I had a lot more spare time then lol. The long rides are brillant for endurance levels. Hope you enjoy harry potter.

  5. I’m not much of a long distance runner… or really a runner at all. I was a regular short distance runner before I injured my back last year. The longest I’ve ever ran was 5 miles but I plan on training for a 10 miler for May so I’ll get getting ready for some long runs in the next few months!

  6. oooh havent seen the Harry Potter yet either! Enjoy girl πŸ™‚ and I do not really run…I am more of a swimmer, biker, rollerblader haha

  7. Oh no! I have literally been on over 500 airplanes and that is the first time anything scary has happened.

    Good luck with your long run! Mine (when I can actually run) are about 10-13 miles depending on my mood.

  8. Today was my long run day! I did 14 b/c I’m training for the NYC marathon!

  9. Long runs are awesome! I like them way better than intervals. As for rest days, I take plenty of them….your bones and muscles need rest. I run about 3 times a week!


Leave a Reply

